A recent trip to Kutch district in Gujarat was far more than I had thought it would be. I expected that Id see some village, some artesian, some desert and I would try to get some pictures. But perhaps I had imagined less. Far less!

This trip showed how much is left for us to see, and more importantly understood. What I saw was a rich heritage untouched from industrialization (well almost, till lately) suspended in time, and immortalized by their Handicraft. The craftsmen are truly God-sent, but it is sad to know that they are not completely getting what they deserve most -Acknowledgement.

Id like to take this platform today, to bring to your notice, the people, their art and their self-less endeavour to keep it alive. But before that, a brief go-through of the place and the trip  :)

A mini pick-up lorry, and don’t miss the paint! No one does kitsch like India!

A Temple, and the flags..

Sunset at the Great Runn of Kutch, a White saline desert. I hadn’t witnessed such a sight before! 

The tradition, still prevalent..

How could I have missed the Turban!  :P

And the journey..

(I was accompanied by a few of my colleagues, forming a design team which went there and did this project. You might want to read from a different perspective, perhaps Legend of the 16 tribes and the soul of the embroidery art: http://saumyanagar.wordpress.com/2011/04/27/44/ )

