About an years back I remember passing by an article on ‘how to face interviews’, and a read a bit out of curiosity. Their was a section about what to answer when they ask you for your own cons? Very thoughtful! You cant be honest so as to not get a job! Neither can you deny answer! Nor can you say you don’t have a flaw at all! And why?

“Why” is the question.

About two years back, in college.. i remember being a person who would run after perfection. No that doesn’t mean i would get even close to it, but i would really try. In work, in assignments, in speech, in which pen to choose, in which paper to wrap ..in life. I couldn’t understand why would i be so disappointed almost all the time.

Then in one of my history of design classes, i was told about some ancient Chinese professional craftsmen who made very intricate pottery. They were perfect in what they did. They made a perfect vase, painted it with detailed oriental style, and when it was almost complete with perfection, they would make a vary small deliberate mistake. Like a slight brush mark. This was symbolic, for their acceptance, of being human. I couldn’t forget this lesson.

Also my favorite Salvador Dali‘s quote is “Have no fear of perfection. You will never reach it!”

So was this it? The answer to the ‘why’! We are humans, and we cant be perfect no matter how hard we try. This is why a perfectionist would be disappointed almost 70% of his life i guess! But if you accept imperfection ..it is very relieving!

Ask me what i like about the band Red hot Chilli Peppers? Their music seems a bit offbeat sometimes, it may have traces of imperfection ..it is studio edited but they dont make it appear as if it was sung by perfect angels! It is lovable!

Everyone want to be perfect.. even a tiny atom, the smallest thing in the universe, whose duplet/octave is incomplete tends to achieve a state of perfect balance! So trying to achieve perfection is human too. What I am trying to say is not to stop seeking perfection. But to be wise enough to not expect everything to end up like they show in the movies ..stop trying to bend everything, and let the chips fall where they may.

What i have to say ends here, but you might want to read the lyrics of a track called ‘This is your life’ by Dust Brothers.

Ref:

[ Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=se51hDh26GI

This is your life.. Good to the last drop, doesn’t get any better than this.
You are not your bank account, the clothes you wear, the contents of your wallet, your bowel cancer, your grande latte or the car you drive.. The things you think you own, end up owning you. You have to give up.
I say let me never be complete.
I say may i never be content.
I say deliver me from Swedish furniture!
I say deliver me from clever art.
I say deliver me from clear skin and perfect teeth.
I say you have to give up.
I say evolve, and let the chips fall where they may..

